Adrian Plass picked me

LONDON, ENGLAND - APRIL 29: Actors dressed in historical costumes pose during a photocall at the newly unveiled wine fountain in the inner courtyard at Hampton Court Palace on April 29, 2010 in London, England. The fully working recreation of Henry VIII's Tudor Wine Fountain was carefully constructed from authentic materials including timber, bronze and gold leaf, and was inspired after a major archaeological dig in 2008 discovered the remains of a 16th century conduit. The attraction opens from May 1, 2010 and will run with red and white wine on weekends and the forthcoming bank holiday. (Photo by Dan Kitwood/Getty Images)A couple of weeks ago I submitted a poem to a competition run by Authentic Media, who are currently promoting Adrian Plass’ new book Silences and Nonsenses (Collected Poetry, Doggerel, and Whimsy). I did not win first prize but I did place in the runner up pack of five. Apparently Adrian liked my poem Ivan/Iran. I would like to be able to say this it the first time I have won a competition, but that would be false humility because when I was nine years old I won a competition for best short story in the local news paper. Racking in those prizes!

You can read about the competition on Authentic’s Blog, which (guys at Authentic) really should be given its own domain: Authentic blog post with the victorious poems on.

I like this poem by Adrian:

When in doubt

Though Moses, Micah, Obadiah
Habakkuk and Ruth
Teach us how to live our lives
In Wisdom and in Truth,
There is one voice whose clear command ~You must obey or rue it,
The mighty prophet Nike Teaches, ‘When in doubt — just do it!’

The poem that won me a copy of Adrian’s book can be found here.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adrian Plass picked me

  1. Pete Matthew says:

    Andy Woodward, Perks and I were recently reliving our teenage years and our background of reading the secret diary of Adrian Plass. Oh happy days!

Leave a Reply

